Rocky Mountain Ramblings

Queen of Corona – Day 8 – Quarantine Birthday LC 3.6 March 24, 2020

Filed under: Queen of Corona — rovinglady @ 2:28 pm

I’m 36 now. That’s cool.  I made it another year and survived my first quarantine birthday. Last year I had the time of my life partying and celebrating my 35th birthday with Leftover Salmon at the exquisite Broadmoor Hotel in Colorado Springs, CO and had so much fun I called out of work on Monday.  This year I took what I could find as a means of celebrating.

image1 (11)

The day before my birthday I went on a nice distanced hike in Morrison with a friend, participated in a Leftover Salmon video stream party and then met up with two friends at Cheesman Park. We walked around and drank alcohol in public. Typically these two friends are “Sanchos friends”, and I actually found it very nice to hang out with them in a different environment, even if we talked about how we wished Sanchos or Be On Key’s was open. They sang me happy birthday in two different languages as we drank whiskey next to a playground.  I ended up going inside both of their Cap Hill apartments and seeing where they live, which I don’t think would have happened if the bars were open.

After Cheesman Park we wandered to Colfax and got pizza at an empty Slice Works.  They had the tables cleared so that people weren’t encouraged to sit and linger inside, and I took advantage of the opportunity to spin a pizza box on my finger in the open space. The employee gave us a free cannoli for my birthday which we split three ways, and we ate our pizza on a cement column in the parking lot outside. It was very fancy.

Because old habits die hard, and because I insisted, we went across the street to Sanchos and tried to get inside, but both the front and back doors were locked.

image9

Colfax was unusually quiet and we were able to cross the street without the assistance of traffic light or walk signal. The 1Up arcade bar had changed their marquee to read, “To Be Continued…”, which I thought was a reference to arcade games, but my friend said I was wrong. I went home shortly after midnight and woke up on my actual birthday feeling happy and refreshed.

image8

I decided to be socially and soulfully responsible and spend my actual birthday alone.  I bought myself lunch (and dessert) at Whole Foods and brought it to my favorite park at an average 8,500 ft elevation.

image7 (1)

The trails were snowy but I ended up doing  a four mile hike, which was amazing. Of course I listened to Railroad Earth the entire time. There was barely anyone else on the trail and it seemed like I had the whole place to myself. I felt very joyful and blessed during that time.

image5 (2)image6 (1)image10

Once I got back into cell phone service I received a text from my lifelong best friend that said, “answer your phone,” which made me nervous. It turned out four of my best friends from my homeland just wanted to do a group Facetime call with me, and that tickled my little 36 year old heart and made me explode with happiness.

image3 (4)

After my hike I treated myself to another delicious meal of salmon and salad, bought myself an electric toothbrush with birthday money from my parents and completed my 2020 Census.  As if that wasn’t enough adulting, I then wrote in my journal and listed things I want to accomplish in my 36th year. I found it funny it took me this long to come up with this list, but better late than never!

“Black Elk, I see it now from the high hill of old age….” – Railroad Earth

All in all, that was my birthday.  I enjoyed it very much.  Oh, and when I was at my friend’s apartment and she lit a tea light candle and sang me happy birthday I used my birthday wish to wish “the best for everyone”.

So, cheers, everyone.  Here’s to us!

image4 (3)

 

 

Leave a comment