Rocky Mountain Ramblings

Chicago Afrobeat Project & Euforchestra @ Cervantes’ Other Side 04.14.2011 April 15, 2011

I saw some amazing afrobeat music last night at Cervantes’ Other Side, located in the beautiful and historic Five Points district of Denver, Colorado. The two bands that performed were Chicago Afrobeat Project and Euforchestra, and let me tell ya, it was a rump shaking, beat breaking, soul waking good time!

The way it went down was that CAbP played one set, then Euforchestra played one set, then CAbP played one set, and then Euforchestra played one more set to end the night, and the jamming went slightly longer than the venue’s 2 AM closing time. The music of both bands was amazing, and I can tell today that I burned some serious calories twirlin’ around that dance floor.

CAbP is based out of Chicago, IL, and they have a lot going on. The band’s front man vocalist has enough soul and energy to make any right-minded person bust a move on his own accord, but when accompanied by all the other talented goodness the various band members have to offer, the result is powerful. There were about eight people on stage, including but limited to; a drummer, percussionist, guitar, bass, two saxophonists and a few other instruments of joy. At one point a lot of the band members were beating on the kind drums that you would imagine the Little Drummer Boy playing. I really liked that part and found my ass was getting closer and closer to the ground. As Trey would say, “shake me up, shake me down, shakin’ that thing all over town…”

Chicago Afrobeat Project

I had a blast getting down CAbP and I would definitely see them again. They are playing Friday night in Fort Collins and doing another “surprise” show Saturday night in Denver, location still to be announced. If you’re into shaking, I suggest you go get shook by The Chicago Afrobeat Project!

Euforchestra is a band originally from Iowa City, IA and now based out of Fort Collins, CO. They also displayed a taste for the afrobeat with their high intensity rhythmic sambas that captured me in a smiling and dancing trance. Euforchestra has strong percussion and silky saxophones and they kept things spicey with a variety of sounds. They rocked out a reggae tune or two, and the percussionist did a rather swell job vocalizing, for a white boy.

Euforchestra

It was my first time seeing this band, and it certainly won’t be my last. You can find Euforchestra performing at multiple festivals this season, including Summer Camp, Waterfront and Electric Forest, to name a few. You can also download a free album at http://www.euforchestra.com!

There were moments where the two bands collaborated and all played on stage together, and it was wild, far-out, nifty and neat. The dancing I did during the show definitely made me feel a lot better about the fact that I didn’t do any biking or swimming after work this week. I am glad I went out on a Thursday night, even if I was one of the last people out of the venue and had to report to the cube early this morning. I think it was well worth it!

Another good time in the Mile High!

**photos taken from the web b/c I didn’t have a camera with me.

 

Leave a Reply

